Hajime

‘Hajime’ is Japanese for ‘beginning’. I am sure there must be other, more beautiful words for ‘beginning’; but I chose ‘hajime’ because it is also a command. Which isn’t to say that it is not beautiful. I chose it also because it makes me think of cherry blossom trees and the leafless branches stretching across the picture on this page. And waves crashing over deep brown rocks on a clear grey day.

This is my home on the internet, where I will go on to put things that I like and where I will write, I hope, pages and pages full of thoughts, stories and other things. I can see its life before me, as if in a stream of some ethereal substance stretching out through the years, changing colour and flavour. Mirroring me. A cloud, like so many others, in a virtual world.

Hajime.

Leave a Reply

